The Honorable Joe Barton, Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce The Honorable Ed Whitfield, Chairman Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations 2125 Rayburn House Office Building U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Friday, July 15, 2005

Dear Chairman Barton and Chairman Whitfield,

As scientists with expertise relevant to the understanding of Earth's changing climate, we are writing to help inform the inquiry you are conducting on the work of Drs. Michael Mann, Ray Bradley, and Malcolm Hughes. We understand that as a representative of the American people, you have a responsibility to inform yourself and your colleagues about scientific knowledge that is relevant to policy decisions. However, we are deeply concerned about your approach and we respectfully submit the following clarifying context.

In your letters of June 23, 2005, to these scientists, you state, "We open this review because this dispute surrounding your studies bears directly on important questions about the federally funded work upon which climate studies rely." In fact, the specific findings of Mann et al. constitute only one item among literally thousands of pieces of evidence that have contributed to the present consensus on the serious nature of climate change. While the 2001 report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) highlighted this work as a useful *illustration* of our understanding of the impact of fossil fuel-related emissions on climate change, in no way does the report suggest that it is an essential element of that understanding. This understanding has been developed over many years from many diverse lines of inquiry.

There are legitimate areas of scientific debate over the best methodologies to apply in reconstructing historic temperatures, as there are in many topics of current scientific interest. However, the essential points of the Mann et al. study—that the late twentieth century likely included the warmest decades in the last millennium—are supported by numerous other studies. We refer the committee to the full reports by the IPCC, the 2001 review of the Third Assessment report by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and the June 7 statement from the NAS and other leading science academies for balanced assessments of the current state of the science.

We also note that much of the information that you have requested from the scientists involved is unrelated to the stated purpose of your investigation. Requests to provide all working materials related to hundreds of publications stretching back decades can be seen as intimidation—intentional or not—and thereby risks compromising the independence of scientific opinion that is vital to the preeminence of American science as well as to the flow of objective advice to the government.

We welcome your interest in the science of climate change and hope that as a community, we can help your committee shape public policy in the light of the best available scientific knowledge.

Respectfully,

Michael Bender Professor Department of Geosciences Princeton University Princeton, New Jersey Member, National Academy of Sciences

Robert W. Corell Senior Fellow AMS Policy Program American Meteorological Society Washington, DC Chair Arctic Climate Impact Assessment

Christopher B. Field
Director
Department of Global Ecology
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Stanford, CA
Member, National Academy of Sciences

James E. Hansen
Director
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Columbia University Earth Institute
New York City, NY
Member, National Academy of Sciences

John P. Holdren
Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
Director, Woods Hole Research Center
President-Elect American Association for the Advancement of Science
Member, National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering,
and American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Jean Lynch-Stieglitz Associate Professor School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, Georgia

Paul A. Mayewski Professor Department of Earth Sciences Director Climate Change Institute University of Maine Orono, ME

James J. McCarthy
Agassiz Professor of Oceanography
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA

Michael B. McElroy Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Studies Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences Harvard University Cambridge, MA

Mario Molina
Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Center for Atmospheric Sciences
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, CA
Member, National Academy of Sciences
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1995

Raymond T. Pierrehumbert Professor Department of Geophysical Sciences University of Chicago Chicago, IL Alan Robock

Distinguished Professor

Department of Environmental Science

**Rutgers University** 

New Brunswick, NJ

Fellow, American Meteorological Society

William H. Schlesinger

James B. Duke Professor of Biogeochemistry

Dean

The Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences

**Duke University** 

Durham, NC

Past President, Ecological Society of America, 2003-04

Member, National Academy of Sciences

Gavin Schmidt

Research Scientist

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Goddard Institute for Space Studies

Columbia University Earth Institute

New York City, NY

Paul Shepson

Director

Purdue Climate Change Research Center

Purdue University

West Lafayette, IN

Susan Solomon

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Boulder, CO

Recipient, National Medal of Science, 1999

Member, National Academy of Sciences

Eric Steig

**Associate Professor** 

Department of Earth and Space Sciences

University of Washington

Seattle, WA

Pieter Tans

**Chief Scientist** 

Climate Monitoring and Diagnostics Laboratory

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Boulder, CO

Fellow, American Geophysical Union

Lonnie G. Thompson

Distinguished Professor

Department of Geological Sciences

Research Scientist

Byrd Polar Research Center

The Ohio State University

Columbus, OH

Recipient, Tyler Prize, The World Prize for Environmental Achievement, 2005

Member, National Academy of Sciences

Donald J. Wuebbles

Department Head and Professor

Department of Atmospheric Sciences

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Urbana, IL

Chair, American Geophysical Union's Executive Board of Heads and Chairs

## cc:

Honorable John D. Dingell, Ranking Member, Energy and Commerce Committee Honorable Bart Stupak, Ranking Member, Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee

Honorable Cliff Stearns

Honorable Charles Pickering, Jr

Honorable Charles Bass

Honorable Greg Walden

Honorable Michael A. Ferguson

Honorable Michael C. Burgess

Honorable Marsha Blackburn

Honorable Diana L. DeGette

Honorable Janice D. Schakowksy

Honorable Jay Inslee

Honorable Tammy Baldwin

Honorable Henry A. Waxman

Honorable Sherwood L. Boehlert, Chairman, House Science Committee Honorable Bart Gordon, Ranking Member, House Science Committee